Are you interested in becoming a licensed roofing contractor? If so, you must follow specific steps to get a roofing license in the United States.
Obtaining a roofing license is an essential step for any professional roofer. Before starting any roofing work, you must ensure you comply with state and local laws in the area you plan to operate.
We’ll first discuss the general process for getting a roofing business license in the United States. You’ll get a glimpse of how the entire process will go before going through the specific roofing license requirements by state.
Most states require roofing contractors to be licensed to legally perform roofing work. Although the process can vary depending on the state in which you live, there are some general steps you can follow to get a contractor license. They are the following:
Each state has its own set of requirements for obtaining a roofing license. These may include completing thorough training, passing an exam, and having a certain amount of experience in the roofing industry.
Some states may require you to complete some education or training to be eligible for a roofing license. This may include taking classes at a vocational school or completing an apprenticeship program.
Gain experience in the roofing industry
Many states will also require you to have a certain amount of experience in the roofing industry before you can apply for a license. This may involve working as an apprentice or an assistant to a licensed roofer.
Most states require you to pass an exam to obtain a roofing license. This may include a written exam and/or a practical exam. Studying and preparing for these exams in advance is vital to increase your chances of passing.
Once you have met all the requirements, you can apply for your roofing license. This typically involves filling out an application and submitting it to the appropriate state agency, along with any required fees and documentation.
In some states, you may need proof of liability insurance or a bond to protect against potential claims or damages.
Some states may have additional requirements or steps that you need to follow on how to get a roofing license.
It is always a good idea to research your state’s specific requirements to ensure that you follow the correct process.
Each state has a licensing board or agency responsible for regulating the roofing industry. These agencies set the rules for getting a roofing license to ensure contractors are qualified and knowledgeable.
Below is the list of states requiring roofing contractors to be licensed, the licensing agency responsible, and the specific requirements. You should also visit their website to find out more about the particular requirements and the process involved:
Licensing Agency: Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors
Requirements: A license is required for commercial projects worth $50,000 or more and residential projects worth $10,000 or more. Contractors must pass an exam (trade, business, and law) and show proof of completion of three projects in the last three years.
Licensing Agency: Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Requirements: Provide proof of liability and workers’ compensation insurance, and place a bond.
Licensing Agency: Arizona Registrar of Contractors
Requirements: Pass a roofers examination, provide a financial statement, proof of insurance, and a bond.
Licensing Agency: Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
Requirements: Register as a residential roofer, and pay a $15,000 bond for projects worth more than $2,000 and $50,000 for commercial projects with a commercial license.
Licensing Agency: California Department of Consumer Affairs Contractors State License Board
Requirements: Pass a roofers examination, show proof of experience in the industry, surety bond, and insurance (general liability and workers’ compensation.
Licensing Agency: Delaware Division of Revenue
Requirements: Pay an annual fee, Workers’ Compensation Insurance, Unemployment Insurance, and Safety Plan Complaint with OSHA.
Licensing Agency: Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Requirements: For a certified contractor license, you’ll need educational and work experience, a background check, and proof of insurance. For a registered contractor license, you’ll need certification of competency, proof of financial stability, and business insurance.
Licensing Agency: Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Requirements: Pass an exam ( roofer, business, and law), have previous experience, and show proof of insurance.
Licensing Agency: Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Requirements: Pass the state exam, have insurance, and post a surety bond.
Licensing Agency: Iowa Registrar of Contractors
Requirements: State registration if you earn over $2,000 per year. If you are an out-of-state roofer, you need a $25,000 bond.
Licensing Agency: Office of Kansas Attorney General Roofing Registration Unit
Requirements: Roofing contractor registration certificate, liability insurance, and workers’ compensation insurance.
Licensing Agency: Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors
Requirements: State license for commercial projects worth more than $50,000, home improvement registration for projects worth between $7,500 and $75,000, and residential license for projects worth more than $75,000. You must also pass an exam (trade, business, and law) and get general liability and worker’s compensation insurance.
Licensing Agency: Maryland Department of Labor Home Improvement Commission
Note: You will need a state license if you perform a home improvement project
Requirements: 2 years of experience, exam passing, and financial solvency requirement.
Licensing Agency: Massachusetts Board of Building Regulations
Requirements: Construction Supervisor License (CSL) license and Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) registration
Licensing Agency: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Requirements: At least 60 hours of education and pass an examination.
Licensing Agency: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Construction Codes and Licensing Division
Requirements: Pass a trade exam, show proof of insurance, and post a $15,000 surety bond.
Licensing Agency: Mississippi State Board of Contractors
Requirements: Pass the law and business management exam, and take the trade exam.
Licensing Agency: Nevada State Contractors Board
Note: Applicable to all contractors, including subcontractors and specialty contractors
Requirements: At least 4 years of experience in the industry
Licensing Agency: New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs
Note: No state license is required, but registration is required for all roofers that do residential work
Licensing Agency: Construction Industries Division, State of New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department
Requirements: At least 2 years experience and pass a trade exam.
Licensing Agency: NC Licensing Board for General Contractors
Requirements: At least 18 years of age, possess good moral character, meet the financial requirement, and complete an examination.
Licensing Agency: North Dakota Secretary of State Licensing Unit
Requirements: Show proof that you don’t owe taxes, liability insurance, and workers’ compensation insurance.
Agency: Oklahoma Construction Industries Board
Requirements: No license requirement, but contractors must register
Licensing Agency: Oregon Construction Contractors Board
Requirements: Pre-license training and passing a test, general liability insurance, workers’ compensation insurance, and bond.
Licensing Agency: State of Rhode Island Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board
Requirements: PSI exam, liability insurance, workers’ compensation insurance, initial license fee, business ID number, and incorporation date for corporations and LLCs.
Agency: South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Residential Builders Commission
Requirements: No license requirement, but contractors must register.
Licensing Agency: Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance Board for Licensing Contractors
Requirements: Pass an exam (trade, business, and law), financial statement, general liability insurance, and worker’s compensation insurance.
Licensing Agency: Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Requirements: Pre-license course from Associated Builders and Contractors Inc (ABC), Utah Home Builders Association (UHBA), or Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC). Specialty contractors need a 25-hour pre-licensure course. General liability insurance.
Licensing Agency: Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Requirements: Pre-license education course, must have qualified individuals with corresponding license/certification for those with specialty, and pass an exam.
Licensing Agency: Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
Requirements: General liability insurance and bond
Licensing Agency: West Virginia Division of Labor Contractor Licensing Board
Requirements: Pass an exam (trade, business, and law) and workers’ compensation insurance.
States not included in the list do not require a state-level roofing business license. However, they may require credentialing at the local level, so be sure to check with your city or municipality before starting any roofing work.
Pro-tip: Consider working with an agency to help you navigate the entire licensing process. They can guide you in preparing all the necessary requirements and documents to apply for a roofing contractor license.
Business 411 is a branding, marketing, and business development agency specializing in the roofing and home service industry.
For more roofing education resources, check out the Residential Roofing Manual. It is being used by over 780 companies in the US and Canada to train their staff 10x faster and transform employees’ approach to working with Homeowners.